A Very Urthy Day

January 19, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Posted in Food for Thought | Leave a comment

‘Twas the day that Ellie finally went to Urth Caffe!!!  😀

I’ve only been hearing about this place for like, a very long time.  This cute little cafe is a hip place to eat at with friends and family.  There are several locations all around the L.A. area.  It is very welcoming with all of its smiling employees who are willing to go the extra mile for the customers.

Ever since I had heard that their coffee is all organic, awesomely aromatic, and slightly sweetened with condensed milk, I was sold.  Their coffee is very European influenced, and thus the name Spanish Latte.  On top, they make a beautiful shape that’s so appealing to the eye.  Not to mention, you can order it mild or strong!  I somehow need to find a way to remake this at home.  Errr somehow I’ve become a coffee addict and a snob connoiseur.

 

Perfectly sweetened latte with a magical foamy leaf.

This morning at 10 a.m., I took my friend AJ to the Korean Consulate in Downtown Los Angeles because she’s leaving for Korea very soon.  😦

We decided to go to Urth Caffe and ordered some amazing eats.  The portions were ginormous a lot larger than we had expected and the food was probably some of the most fresh I have ever eaten!  You can tell I really like this place and I would say that it’s….in my top 3 picks of my favorite restaurants. ^_~  If you’re ever around the area, just tell ’em that Ellie referred you.  Yeah right, they’ll say “Ellie who?”

 

My Mediterranean Platter filled with hummus, Tabbouleh, pita bread, and goat cheese.

A happy AJ with a "doomed" Prosciutto sandwich.

On a different note, I had a great time with AJ just driving around L.A.  It is a whole lot bigger and definitely more culturally diverse than we knew!  We’re both really into culture and appreciate the beauty of such a gift that we have here in So Cal.  I’m thankful we can embrace the vast diversity that surrounds the OC.  And no, I’m sorry to say that I don’t live on the beach.  Although it is just about 35 minutes away 🙂

Being able to drive around in a car and talk about a whole slew of deep topics was very edifying for my soul and spirit.  We talked about:

  • Love
  • Urth Caffe
  • God’s grace
  • 3-6 o’clock traffic
  • food
  • dessert
  • culture
  • Japan

Don’t you just love it when you can connect about deep matters (and arbitrary topics) of the heart with others around you?!  All in all, ’twas a beautious day….a very Urthy day.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

