Banana Protein Pancakes & No Mo' Fear

January 22, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Posted in Breakfast, Recipes | 2 Comments

WOW!  (I’m known to always say that word)

This morning I set out to go on a little banana adventure ride.  I came up with a recipe that I really wasn’t sure how it would turn out!  To be honest, I was scared.  Why was I scared?  Mainly because I was totally improvising with the pancake recipe.   I was also afraid of…ready…? SOY FLOUR…There!  I said it!

I had a bad experience with soy flour the other day while attempting to make some baked goods.  The initial smell when it’s still dry is just fine–it smells a bit on the nutty side.  However…once I added the wet ingredients and mixed it all in, I just could not stand the smell!  If anyone out there knows what I’m talking about, I’m sure you know that metallic and almost dirt-like smell it produces when it’s wet.

Fortunately, this morning that fear was conquered with a little sugar ‘n spice and everything nice.  Scratch the sugar, there’s no extra sugar in this recipe. 🙂

Banana Protein Pancakes

Dry Ingredients:

1/2 C  whole wheat flour

1 TBSP cornmeal

1 TBSP soy flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp sea salt (or whatever you have)

1 tsp chia seeds

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:

1 TBSP olive oil

1 egg

1/2 C buttermilk* (Almond milk+1/2 TBSP vinegar or lemon juice)

Directions:

First, start with the buttermilk*.  Measure 1/2 TBSP of vinegar into a measuring cup, and fill it with almond milk all the way up to the 1/2 C mark (wait on it for at least 7 minutes).  While waiting on that mixture, go ahead and in a medium bowl mix all the dry ingredients and stir.  Now in a separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients.  Finally, add the dry to the wet and whisk–but don’t over whisk. Take about half a banana and cut slices.

Set a pan on med-high heat and spray with PAM spray.  With a 1/4 measuring cup, ladle the batter onto the pan.  I made them a wee bit smaller than 1/4 C though.  Right away, stud the pancake with about 2 little banana slices.  You’ll know you can flip it when it gets fat and fluffy.

I served mine with raw pecans on top, greek yogurt, and homemade sunflower butter.  It made a total of 2 servings.


So don’t be scared of Soy flour like I was!! Errr maybe that’s just me? I took this lofty sacrifice for the scaredy-cats out there and the result was awesome fluffy pancakes!

Enjoy and have a blessed &  fantabulous day! <333

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oooh, thank you for this recipe! Yesterday I decided that it was time for me to start looking for pancake recipes. You see, I haven’t eaten pancakes in over a decade as I’ve never much liked them, but then I realised if I made them myself, with flavours I like, then surely they’d be just as tasty as, say, muffins. I love your recipe’s inclusion of chia seeds!

    • ahhh niiiice Hannah! Thank you for the visit :D)))<— those are triple chin smiles. You made my mornin' I hope you like them! let me know how they are in your opinion. I'm sure instead of soyflour you can even use a TBSP of protein powder. have a blessed Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.