Chocolate Shell Cake

January 24, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Posted in Desserts, Recipes | 3 Comments
Tags:

Quick!  Somebody get the inhaler!!!

Whooo…today was surprisingly filled with lots of cooking and baking!  After running errands, taking care of school stuff, and getting in some reading, I finally got home and somehow it just hit me.  BOOM! or CRASH! Not sure which one describes this emotion better.

I present you the Chocolate Shell Cake

Errmm….So I first want to apologize in advance. Really, I hope you’ll understand. 🙂  I know that as soon as you see this, you may just want take a huge bite of your screen. (I apologize for the bad lighting too)

Somehow, baking inspiration came to me and I decided to make some kind of cakey dessert.  I wanted something sweet but not overly toothache inducing–while my goal was also to make it a bit healthier than it COULD have been.  Sometimes, a girl just needs her chocolate and pastry fix.  😀

I really have this pleasure in coming up with my own dishes and baked goodies, and can never seem to follow a recipe either.  I also love to show hospitality to family, friends, and my boyfriend Greg by concocting something mysterious and feeding it to them.

I assure you you’ll love this recipe.  Enough blabbering and let’s get to work!  Get your apron on, hair tied back, and your Kitchen Aid mixer.  Or any mixer for that matter.

Chocolate Shell Cake

Inspired by a nutty amateur baker

Wet Ingredients

1 C almond milk

2 eggs

1/2 C Earth Balance ‘butter’

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 a banana

Dry Ingredients

2 C cake flour (not sure what regular white flour would be like)

1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt (or any you have on hand)

1/2 C white sugar

1/2 C raw sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Ingredients for Chocolate

I used just 1 C Ghirardelli 60% cacao chips

1 TBSP coconut butter

1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions

1.  Start by creaming Earth Balance ‘butter’ with the sugars

2.  Mix the rest of the dry ingredients together until well incorporated

3.  Add the eggs one at a time into the wet mixture while the beater is mixing.  Then, add the vanilla.

4.  Start adding flour mixture first, and alternate with the almond milk.  Do this about 3-4 times.

5.  Mash the banana and add it into the wet mixture

6.  After all is well incorporated, pour it into a 9×9 in. square pan

7.  Put it in the preheated oven and bake for approximately 30-40 minutes.  Check on it just in case.

8.  Microwave the chocolate mixture in 30 second intervals till liquidy

9.  The cake was really tall!  So I cut it in half and only covered one of them with chocolate.

10.  Cover with chocolate all over and spread it around.  Add fruit, I topped it with blueberries.

11.  Let it harden in the fridge for about an hour and cut as you desire.

The results are just amazing, and not overly sweet. ^.~*v


I hope y’all have a blessed day tomorrow and let me know how you like these if you try them!  Or if you can veganize them, that’s even crazier and I’ll give you a prize.  A big hug and a high five! And promise me you’ll have your inhaler with you.


3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That cake looks great! 🙂

  2. Wowzers! Love the use of coconut butter to get the “shell” effect. Brilliant recipe, my dear! If only I didn’t already have a million baked goods to eat in my fridge/freezer…

    • hahaha funny~my mother always complains about my not finishing all the food I cook and then cooking up some more. I think it’s b/c I like to cook for others rather than eat all of it myself! 😛


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.