“Stuffed” Cottage French Toast

February 16, 2011 at 10:58 AM | Posted in Breakfast, Food, Health, Inspiration, Recipes, Reflections, Relationships | 21 Comments

Hi friends!! I just wanted to send out a HUGE THANK YOU for all the supportive and loving comments!  I’m truly so blessed for everyone that I SEE in my life, as well as you guys!  I can’t wait to continue this journey sharing every detail I can, and I’m excited to get to know you better as well!  😀

I also would like to share with you a recipe packed with protein-punch.  So without further ado…

“Stuffed” Cottage French Toast


Ingredients:

2 bread slices (I used Ezekiel sesame)

2 TBSP cottage cheese

1 TBSP chopped almonds

A few thin slices of pear

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 C almond milk

1/2 tsp cinnamon! (Or more :P)

Directions:

First, preheat the oven to 425 F (I used toaster oven) and grab a medium bowl.  Whisk together all the wet ingredients+cinnamon until well incorporated.  On a separate platter, lay down the bread slices and on one side, spoon on the cottage cheese, the almond pieces, and the pear slices.  Cover it with the other piece of bread.  Note that it will not stick together too well and thus, the title “stuffed” because it’s a simulation. 😛

Then, hold the “stuffed” breads carefully and drench it in the liquid mixture.  PAM a baking pan/dish and bake the toast for approximately 8 minutes.

And voila!  You have a cottage cheese French Toast…Froast?  Cottage cheese Froast…? 🙂

This recipe serves 1.

And then drench away….

Ta-daaaaa!

Although, I did make it for my sis in the end, so I just started adding on more liquid ingredients and bread slices and ended with a serving for 2!!

Tips:

  • The pear taste isn’t too noticeable, so next time I’ll actually sprinkle some cinnamon on the pears as well.
  • I would like to try it with a bread loaf instead!  And just make a slit in the middle so it’s really STUFFED.
  • I used the toaster oven, so I’d recommend upping the temp to 450 F is you’re using a regular oven.  🙂

The top is crispy and crusty, just the way I like it Mmmmm!

I topped the Froast with….none other than PEANUT BUTTER!! Don’t get me wrong, I love all kinds of nut butters!  But sometimes PB is the way to go.  This is one of my fave brands, next to Justin’s Butter and a few others.

Once Again‘s Sunflower Butter is what first got me into their products!  They’re so fresh, slightly sweet, and creamy.  Not like JIF, but like recently homemade butter. 😀  I would really love to try NUTTZO BUTTER!!! But I have to admit, it’s very pricey and I don’t feel right buying one…as of now?  So I think I’ll try to make it on my own, except I’m not sure how it really tastes hah!

My Question: What’s the best French Toast you’ve ever tried?  What’s your favorite brand of nut butter?  Also, what’s the very 1st thing that catches your attention about a man? 😛

Hope you have a blessed rest of the day!!

Love,

Ellie <33

 

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Best French toast, hands down, is my momma’s. 🙂

  2. I love stuffed french toast! Some pumpkin would be delicious in there too I bet.

    • Yes that WOULD be. And mascarpone cheese…? daydreaming 😛

  3. This is such a great idea!! I love cottage cheese and pears! I love the normal french toast. Why mess with a good thing? Haha! The first thing I notice about a guy is his height. I like ’em tall! 🙂

    • Haha, I think it’s the “shortness” in us that brings out that desire for height? ^_~* I’m about your height lol

  4. This looks great! I love cottage cheese in anything!

  5. Yum! Girlllll I gotta come to your house for breakfast 😀

    • I WOULD invite you if you lived here 😀 Funny how we live on totally opposite sides of the U.S. but both are sunny states

  6. I love my food on the savory-sweet side, so my favorite french toast would be stuffed with bacon and cheese. 🙂

    I think brie would work so well in this dish, too!

    • Omygosh!! Great idea!! Brie WOULD be perfect in here. haha! what you describe about the bacon sounds like a fancy grilled cheese 😛 Thanks for stopping by Sophia~

  7. OH MY gosh I am making this tomorrow and posting about it for lunch I promise you this! This looks amazing! I just love ezekiel bread dont you?!

  8. Hope you had a wonderful day Ellie!

    • Thanks Ange!! This simple comment made me smile BEEEGGG. 😀 I also sprinkled the toast with teeny bit powder sugar and some pure maple. Ezekiel is bomb!! Hope you had a blessed day as well ❤

  9. I like my breakfast sweet with a bit of salt thrown in. I’m a big fan of bacon pancakes and I bet it would be so good with french toast!

    • Heyy you and Jessica from howsweeteats would have an awesome time eating together then 🙂 Or~you’d fight over the bacon.

  10. I love french toast!! I never order it at restraunts, but I love making it at home 🙂 I like using special breads like cinnamon raison. Its delish!

    • Haha me neither–usually Greg does that job of ordering it pretty well so I never do. They’re too sweet usually!

  11. Froast! I love that! Love cottage cheese…I can just sit and eat a tub of it – trouble.

    Congrats on your engagement! Wow.

  12. Hi there! Just found your blog and so happy that I did; I love it!! This french toast looks really good, I’ve been on SUCH a huge french toast kick lately:) My favorite recipe is for PB&J stuffed french toast…it’s on my blog on the first page so if you’re interested, you should go check it out! 🙂

    • Ohhh thank you so much Olivia! 😀 Ohh! I’ve been wanting to make some kind of PB&J froast so i’ll mosey on over to your site!

  13. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Cottage cheese! and french toast! This is a recipe for me!! My fav french toast I’ve ever had …so far is just pb stuffed!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

