I Think I Found My Wedding Planners

February 17, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Posted in Daily Inspiration, Dinner, Fitness, Food, God, Health, Nutrition, Recipes, Reflections | 33 Comments

And their names are Olivia, Sharon, and Bianca.  How unfortunate that they’re only 9 years old!  And even worse, I doubt that they have any kind of degree or license in wedding planning. 😛

As I walked in Cameron’s classroom this morning, I whispered to some of the girls that I got engaged!!!  As suspected, the girls did what they do best.  “Ohhhh how awesome!!  Can I get invited to your wedding?  When are you getting married?! Hey, Miss Ellie is getting married guys!” But hey, I couldn’t help myself! 😀  I asked for it.

Cameron’s friends are just too cute.  Olivia is such a precocious little girl–sometimes I feel like I’m talking to a peer.  0_o”  She knows me far too well from some observations that she’s made of my wedding preferences, such as the color scheme, dress style, outdoor or indoor, you name it!

I have to say, that dress isn’t half bad!  Baahahaha.  So adorable.

And equally adorable are Sharon and Bianca’s illustrations.  They’re wanting to design my hair style, and they’ve already invited themselves.  Help.

As you can tell, these girls made my day today.  Not only that, this little experience opened my eyes yet AGAIN to the reality of female-hood. (It is a word now)

In the midst of all the “Oohs and Aahs” of excitement, I saw how girls innately have a desire to be beautiful.  A desire to be longed for.  A desire to be living in some kind of fairy tale with a prince charming riding on his white horse…

For some reason, this thought really moved me because it confirmed once again that we have been pre-wired to long for those things!  And it’s not wrong to want those things, because God wants us to FEEL LOVED AND BE LOVED.  He wants us to know our worth and beauty in Him–not only outer beauty, but the inner beauty within ourselves because we are made in His image.

Have you heard of the saying that goes, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder”? As I sit here typing away, this quote is resonating through my inner most being.  So wait a minute…if beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and God, the Creator of everything, is my beholder…then all I need to be concerned about is how He thinks of me!

And He thinks I’m darn beautiful!  He declares that YOU are infinitely precious and worthy to Him… ^_~ He wants to be our prince charming as funny as that sounds.  Sorry I’m turning all mushy here.

I don’t believe that little girls or grown women should always live in a dream world, but what I’m trying to convey here is that inside of us, there is an unlocked beauty waiting to come out and blossom for the world to see.  It is no coincidence that a whole slew of 9 year old girls would feel just the same.  Amazing, if I may say so myself!

________________

Not to be abrupt, but I wanted to share one of my new food loves!! You may have seen this magical marinara sauce on Angela’s blog already!  It’s called White Linen Collections.

I have to say, it is absolutely expeealidocious!!  It is made of very wholesome ingredients, and it reminds me so much of Argentine pasta sauce!  I think I’ve finally found something at least somewhat close to Argentine cuisine. 😀  And the best part is, I don’t have to pay an arm and a leg for it.

So what do you do when life throws you amazing marinara sauce? Why, you make a quick and amazing veggie spaghetti of course!~So, quick spaghetti was made yesterday.

Very simple ingredients went into the pot.

  • Approximately 1.5 C of broccoli
  • 1/2 C chopped sweet peppers
  • 1/2 can black beans
  • 1/2 container White Linen Marinara Sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • sprinkle of ground herbs
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • Some gnocchi and whole wheat spaghetti in a separate pot
  • Garnished with fresh Parmigiano Reggiano

And I ended up with this beauty within 20 minutes, while serving 5.

___________________

Gosh, there are so many eats that I’ve been enjoying lately!  I’ve been running around everywhere from Bible studies, work, meetings, and classes.  I realized that I was not taking care of myself that well.

As a result, I discovered one of the best store-bought Classic Hummuses! Hummi?  What’s the correct form anyway? 😛

It is pretty cool that my school offers this vending machine in the middle of campus.

Oy, it even sells tampons.  This is Sabra’s Classic Hummus With Pretzel Crackers. It is so creamy and delicious.  I think it’s my fave Sabra hummus next to the Pine nut flavor.

Like I mentioned before, it’s rather comforting that the U.S. as a whole is moving towards health and fitness.  One tub of hummus at a time. ^_~*

As always, I wanted to keep this simple and short but it didn’t work.  Thank you for keeping up with my ramblings!

My Question:  What’s your favorite brand/type of hummus?  What’s your convenience healthy food when you’re in a hurry?  And what was your ideal type of wedding ever since you were a child? 🙂

“How precious to me are Your thoughts, O God!  How vast is the sum of them!  Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.  When I awake, I am still with you…” -Psalm 139:17~18-

Grace & Peace,

Ellie <33

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your veggie spaghetti looks delicious!! Sabra has great hummus! I hope you post about all your upcoming wedding plans! I’m really excited for you! And to your ideal wedding question, I would need 23023902930 posts to answer that haha 🙂

    • For sure! Whatever is related to wedding plans, I’ll make sure to share them with y’all ❤

  2. Hi girl! 🙂 Just came across your adorable blog! Are you from Cali also? Congrats on your engagement!

    • Thank you thank you! So I saw your blog, and it seems that we’re from the same COUNTY! OC hehe. Sooo awesome~as a matter of fact, I will be near Irvine today.

      • Oh wow! That’s awesome! The only reason I’m in Irvine during the week is for school. Other than that, I’m usually with my family who live near the Los Angeles area. Wonderful to “meet” other ppl around the area though!

  3. Hi Ellie! Thanks for dropping by my blogs! =D it’s neat how the net makes us connect to people all over the world!

    i’m excited for your wedding day! are you starting to plan already?

    how are your new wedding planners? hahahaha.. i bet they are excited for you. their wedding gown designs are gorgeous. tell these ladies (or girls?) that.

    *i love spaghetti! geeh! hope i can make that one soon!

    see you again!

    • Haha nooo I have NOT started, I kind of don’t know how/where. But! I’ll start looking at wedding books and mags? And turn to you girls for guidance lol 😀

  4. I love the sound of “hummi” 😛 Oh, and I’ll be your wedding planner! First item on the agenda: figure out a way for me to get to America and eat that Sabra hummus. That’s totally wedding related, right? 😀

    • Haha! And I’m sure it’ll be the most organized wedding ever with your planning. ^.~* You’re so funny Hannah

  5. I need to get that sauce. Miss Argentinian pasta.

    I am weird I ve never had fantasy or dream about the wedding day. Nw I have to plan or the wedding I feel kind of lost and open to anything!

    • I knowww pasta here just isn’t the same, is it? To be honest, I never reaaallly had a plan for that either! But more and more I’m thinking…outdoors would be so fun 😀 I love nature.

  6. Omg, congrats on getting engaged!! That must be so exciting 😀 And those girls are too cute. My sister’s name is Bianca!

    And that spaghetti looks so good- I love Tribe’s hummus!

    • Thanks Paola~ I tried Tribe’s artichoke hummus before! I looove artichoke, but for some reason I wasn’t a fan of the hummus. I’ll make sure to give the other flavs a try. 🙂

  7. that pasta looks delicious!

    • It was~quick and ‘very homemade’ 😛

  8. Congrats again on the engagement! Those are some good planners you got there LOL. P.S.the Gnocchi looks awesome

    • Ohhh you would have laughed if you saw them. So cute.

  9. This post reminds me of the book “Captivating.” If you haven’t read it then you should. It’s all about our desire as ladies to be loved and cherished.

    And hey, don’t forget you’ve got a whole blog world of girlfriends here who will help you plan the wedding too! 😉

    • Soo funny you mention “captivating” Rach! Hehehehe it’s the book that SORT of bridged a gap when I really started to like Greg! One day we actually HUNG out at a cafe, and for some reason I was spilling all the wonderful stuff I read in that book. Then I gave him Wild at Heart when we started our relationship. 😛 For sure! I’ll ask you soon for some advice.

  10. i’m terrible at packing meals and snacks on the go! but usually my go to is greek yogurt with some grape nuts in it, and my fave hummus is the red pepper hummus from trader joe’s! yummmmmy

    • Oh I tried that one! It’s good. 🙂 I would like to try their white bean basil one, like Caitlin suggests. I find that if I pack a few things either the night before, or in the morning before I get busier, then I’m good to go with snacks.

  11. That’s so sweet that those girls care so much for you 🙂

    There has only been one type of hummus that I didn’t like and that was some weird fat-free kind. I cannot think of the brand! But who wants fat-free hummus? That’s just werid. It didn’t even taste like hummus…

    Whitney

    • I usually don’t say “ew” to food. So I won’t haha. But that does NOT sound pleasant at all hah! Yeahh I feel so loved by these kids. But! Maybe it’s b/c I’m their ‘coat hanger’ every recess. 😛

  12. Haha – you’re wedding planners sound SO cute! 🙂

    And that pasta/gnocchi – YUM!

    • Ditto! 😀

  13. Mmmmm hummus 🙂 I am so glad that hummus has really caught on, I mean it is so much healthier than the other dips america used to love! My mom used to make the sour cream adn onion dip at least once a week. We would finish that tub off in a few days. It was awful but so delicious!

    • Wowww I think I’ve only tried that dip once before? I remember it being good. And rich. 😛 Yes it’s awesome now with healthier snacks.

  14. Omgawwww planning weddings how fun 😀 And your pasta looks finger lickin good 😉

    • I gave you the Versatile Blogger Award on my blog! 😀

  15. I had some veggie spaghetti this wknd too-yummmmy! Love the wedding planners, haha….sometimes they’ll have the best ideas!

    • Italian is so convenient and versatile, even in the length of cooking. Kids can be so crazy (in a good way) 🙂

  16. That is too cute! Love little kids. Honestly, I didn’t have many plans in my head about my wedding when I was a little girl. I think I was always more focused on the man than the actual wedding part.:)
    Not to blog drop because I think that’s extremely tacky, but from one future bride to another I love reading proposal stories, and I talked about my lack-of-vision when I was a little girl…and my proposal here:
    http://futuremrsharrell.blogspot.com/2011/02/toothbrush-sanitizers-world-peace.html

    • Hehe I read it and ’twas awesome Angela~ ❤ It's not tacky by all means go ahead! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

