Special Guests

March 5, 2011 at 11:36 AM | Posted in Breakfast, Food, God, Inspiration, Relationships | 30 Comments

Greg’s parents are coming to town! Today!  We can get uber silly sometimes. 😛

This was taken last year when they visited us during the early summer.

Sharon and Russell are the sweetest future in-laws! I don’t think I can ask or pray for better ones to be honest hehe!  Praise the Lord! He truly has blessed me in this area! (you know, many people dislike their in-laws)

I really have no idea what we’re planning to do today, but no matter what we do, we always have fun together.  We can pretty much just sit down and have fun chit-chatting about God, life, and embarrassing moments.  Sharon is as sweet as can be, and Russell is…well….he tortures me and looks for every opportunity he gets to TRIP ME OR MAKE FUN OF ME! Yes, he’s sweet.  But how terrible is that?  He always tells me to “stand up”.

FYI:  I AM only 5’1-5’2″.  But I’m starting to finally embrace it! 😀

I’ve missed all of you terribly (although we’ve kept in touch); isn’t that silly?  However, I have to keep this short and quick.  So before I forget, I’ll share with you what I had this morning.

Perhaps it will send you straight to the kitchen, or the thought of it may just scare you off this blog.  😦 I hope it’s the former!

This is a ZUCCHINI  BANANA OATMEAL. Yes, let your eyes feast~~~! 0_o

In the mix went in:

  • 1/4 C old fashioned oats
  • 1 C almond milk
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon! (never can get enough)
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 mashed banana
  • 1/4 C grated zucchini (patted so it’s not too liquid-y)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • couple walnut pieces
  • chia seeds
  • topped off with ONCE AGAIN CRUNCHY PB!! <— this stuff is seriously so delicious.
  • and lastly, topped with homemade coconut butter

I really enjoyed this breakfast!  It was filling and felt like I saw eating zucchini bread in oat form. Haha.

Let me just mention one thing about Once Again Nut Butter.  You know how much I rave about this stuff.  And now, I really do it with even better reason aside from the fact that it has awesome texture and flavor!  I just found out that they support very kind causes to help people out there in need.

I mean, not only do they have organic farms growing the products, but they also aid Nicaraguan education, medical programs, as well as employment for the Nicaraguan people.  It’s no wonder that I love it so much.  😀

Okay, I just wanted to share that bit with you all.

I’m off to finish some duties and to grandmother’s house Sharon+Russell’s hotel we go~~

Have a blessed day and stay in touch y’all! May we live like there’s no tomorrow 😛

My Question:  Are any guests or loved ones comin’ to town?  What do you enjoy doing the most with them?

Grace & Peace,

Ellie <33

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” -Matthew 11:29

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My boyfriend’s mom is coming in to town next weekend but since my boyfriend is studying for his medical boards we won’t be able to see her 😦 That oatmeal looks delicious!!! I’d be too scared to add zucchini tho lol

    • I take it that you girls get along really well then huh? 😀 oh but trust me, adding zucchini is reallllly not as bad as it sounds/seems! 🙂

  2. That’s great that you have wonderful future in-laws, it really makes married life a lot easier! I LOVE my in-laws, too, I’m so thankful for my husband’s sweet family!

    That oatmeal sounds really good! I love incorporating veggies into breakfast!!

    What a great verse at the end of your post, love it!!

    • I’m sure it makes a world of a difference 😛

  3. Never heard of using zucchini in oatmeal! What a cool idea! That’s so amazing that you’re future in-laws are so awesome. 🙂

    • you should try it! It’s actually really good! And since zucchini is so mild in taste, it’s not too noticeable.

  4. Wow. That oatmeal sounds amazing. I am defiantly putting that on my recipe to do list.

    • It WAS amazing. 😀

  5. That oatmeal look really, really tasty!!! 😀

    I hope you have an amazing time with your future in laws! That’s so cool that they’re so nice! 🙂

    • Yesss it TRULY is a blessing. I know many girls struggle b/c of the mom-in-law 0_o

  6. Have a lot of fun with your inlaws! 🙂

  7. That’s awesome that you get along with them so well! I also love the idea of veggies in oatmeal. I had pumpkin oats before but never zucchini yum.

    Whitney 🙂

    • haha glad you think well of it! 😀

  8. Adding zucchini is such a good idea! Way to get your in veggies in the morning 🙂

  9. Aww, I love that you love them so much! That’s so great, girl! I’m really close to my parents-in-law too and it’s such a blessing. 🙂

    My sister and her family are in town right now! They’re over with her husband’s family right this minute, though. We have to share them sometimes, haha!

    • saw the pics and all! You guys seem like you had a blast together 🙂

  10. I’m even more envious of your nut butters now, since you told me how many you have! The only thing I’d like more than lots of nut butter is some nice in-laws. Of course, I have to find the man before I get the in-laws… 😛

    • hahaha. OR you COULD gain your future in-laws’ favor, and they’ll hook you up with the man 😛 just kidding~!

  11. My favorite thing to do with visitors is sit around and talk while enjoying a good meal. I also like to show them around whatever city I happen to be living in at the time. 🙂

    • Ohhhh so I guess you move around quite a bit? I’m assuming 🙂

  12. hahaha.. I always get that “stand up” too! haha.. I’m 5′ flat.. =p well, we have to admit that asians are shorter than westerners =p

    I love love my in-laws too! Can’t ask for anything more!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

    • oh wow! *high five* hahaha. I’m always delighted to know other girls who are on the same height scale 😛

  13. Isn’t that great when you really get on well with your in laws. I get on well with Mr NQN’s mum although she really is the polar opposite of me 🙂

  14. Family is the best 🙂 I hope you have an incredible time with them!! My sissy has been here for 2 weeks, but she leaves thursday 😦
    FYI, I live in lomita 🙂

    • Lomita~~I’ve heard of it, but I’m guessing it’s not anywhere near downtown l.a.?

  15. Have a great time!

  16. Glad you have great in-laws…it’s REALLY hard otherwise-my cousin (maid of honor) was in town this past weekend, i’m not a huge fan of people staying at our house (i’m big on routines)but she’s an exception:)

    • I see your cousin got special treatment~ 😀 They didn’t stay at my house, nor greg’s. they stayed in a hotel. But it would have been fun to have them over~!

  17. Zuchinni and banana sounds like a crazy combo but I’d love to try it!

    • For reals, it’s NOT like it sounds! I pinky promise 😛


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

