Just Extraordinary

March 11, 2011 at 12:42 PM | Posted in Daily Inspiration, Food for Thought, God, Relationships | 37 Comments

ex·traor·di·nar·y

–adjective

1.  beyond what is usual, ordinary, regular, or established: extraordinary costs.
2.  exceptional in character, amount, extent, degree, etc.; noteworthy; remarkable: extraordinary speed; an extraordinary man.
That, my friends, is what has been happening around the world.

Definition #1 speaks in regards to the 8.9 earthquake in Japan.

Definition #2 speaks in regards to how we should live this amazing, and yet crazy life.

As you may have already seen on the news, our friends in Japan have been at the brink of death, and some have even gone past the point of death.

Surprisingly enough (or not so surprising) even the state of California is being affected to a potentially serious degree.  The coastal areas of California are beginning to take the blows of Japan’s 8.9 earthquake!  Now, if that isn’t a huge number on the Richter scale, then I don’t know what is!

Thankfully, I don’t reside along the coast as I live about 30-40 minutes away from it.  However, this doesn’t mean I am exempt from anything that nature brings.  Life is truly so short.  Sometimes, it dawns on me ever so strongly as to how utterly futile it is unless we live with a purpose.

Can I be excruciatingly honest with you?  If you read the next statement, then I perceive that you will forge ahead and bear with me and my rant.

Ready?

I am guilty.  Extremely guilty. I am just so…not perfect in how I love God and others around me.

So many times I find myself praying for the nations to be healed by touch of God’s hand, and so many times I burn with a desire to be a blessing to others who are hurting far more than I am.

Yet so frequently do I find myself slowly falling into a lackadaisical attitude of half-heartedly caring for other countries, or even states, that are going through a crisis.

Yes, I may often see on KCAL 9 and Fox News that there’s a destructive hurricane going on somewhere.  My heart shatters to pieces knowing that all I can do is pray for them at the time.  In fact, that IS the best thing I can do; I can intercede on behalf of them because everything is in the best hands–in God’s hands.

Although my soul may be going through these emotions, my mind tells me “Well, at least you’re not THAT close physically to that location.  At least you’re not being affected.  Be thankful Ellie.”

This attitude of complacency is something that I want to live without.  I want all of my selfishness to succumb to the truth, and all of my being to care and love others to the point of my suffering with them if need be.

*sigh*  It feels better just bringing out to the light what I didn’t even know was in the dark corners of my heart!

And now my beloved friends, a small portion of California is at the beginning stages of such crisis.  This is closer to home, and it is definitely a reminder that a life that is full of joy and peace, yet uncomfortable for the purpose of God, is what I strive for day and night.

I do not want to float through the motions of life, but I pray that everyday would be extraordinary and intentional  in how I think, talk, and act.

I believe that as humans beings, we all need a little kick in the butt from time to time to wake ourselves up from the doldrums of life–if you know what I mean. 🙂  And I am not assuming that you guys as individuals are like this, but I am speaking about myself and man-kind in general.

Don’t get me wrong, my intent is not to bring you down as you read these words.  I may even come off as being melodramatic as a matter of fact!  And I certainly don’t want this to be a condemning message to anyone of us!   But all I want is for us, as beautiful created beings, to live life with purpose and joy in the Lord.  🙂   If you want to know exactly what I mean by that, then contact me. 🙂

My hope is that we may encourage one another to hope for the best, and pray for Japan, California, Canada, New Zealand, and all the countries out there.  Heck, the whole world needs healing!

May we care as if we cared for ourselves.  May I not only care at the moment of disaster, but may I care for the rest of my life.

Not only that,  but may we always be ready ourselves for whatever life may bring–because frankly, life is full of problems.   Like I mentioned, life is too short to not live with love, joy, peace, and purpose.

No matter what road we may be in, the truth is that we are born, we live, and we pass away.  So my point is, let us live a life that is extraordinary for Him and for others.  I love you all so much and hope the best for you always!  (If you need prayer regarding anything, then feel free to ask b/c I would love to.  The more prayer, the better.)

But do you know what else is more astonishing?  Jesus Christ loves you and me even more than what I, or anyone can ever fathom.

“Who is this Christ”?  One may ask.

He is the one of whom the Roman epistle talks about in the Bible…

”For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor present things, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 8:38~39-

I have no idea how I’ve gotten on so many tangents here, let alone how I ended up with this verse! 😛  (I am the queen of tangents after all) But this is my heart.  Although my words do no justice to the things on His heart, I hope that they are being somewhat conveyed in this post…

Grace & Peace,

Ellie <33

*********Update:  Here are some ways we can help!!!!

The red cross

Save the Children

Global Giving

International Medical Corps

37 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The devastation that has been occuring worldwide is truly heartbreaking. I only pray that God uses this quake as a way to touch people’s hearts and bring more people to Christ. I really hope that everyone pulls together and can help one another out.

    • Amen to that Kat!

  2. It’s times like these that we must all pull together for strength and support. I truly feel heart broken for those who have lost their homes or families. It’s crazy what I woke up to today, hopefully everyone will lend out a helping hand

    • It’s encouraging to see individuals like you jen

  3. My husband is taught in the USMC that “complacency kills” and while we try to look past the exact definition of that verbage — we take away the message that we are not to be complacent with anything… always striving for more and always caring as much as we possibly can.

    I hope everyone can try to help and pitch in! It seems these disasters are everywhere from the states to far far overseas =/

    • That’s a crazy bold statement regarding “complacency kills”! Thanks for sharing that~

  4. It’s easy to feel that we are imperfect in our ability to truly “be there” for everyone in this world who is deserving of care, empathy, and love, but I think that acknowledging this and always trying to put our own problems in perspective and do what we can for others is incredibly important. Well done to you for taking this first step 🙂

    • That’s an interesting perspective Hannah~thanks for sharing that!

  5. Ugh, the Japan thing really upsets me too. This was a great post. So spiritual and personal. I really loved this!

  6. I hard last night about Japan. What a truly awful thing to have happened. It saddens me to think that I may know someone there that has been hurt or killed 😦

    • Yeahh I just found out that my bro in law’s sis’ co-worker died there. 😦 Although I may not be close to that individual at all, only God knows what to do. God truly bless their family! And everyone in the world actually~

      • Ellie I’m so sorry to hear about your brother in law’s sister’s co worker 😦

        • Yess me too~every life is precious. One blogger, Elle marie, is in Japan and rather terrified. Let’s encourage her y’all! at www dot ellemarie dot jp

  7. Great post, girl!

    • Thanks for being here Nicole! 🙂

  8. What a fantastic post!!!

    I was soooo sad when I heard about Japan at school yesterday 😦 It doesn’t seem fair that the people who live there should have to go through such a tragedy when most of the rest of the world doesn’t have to go through it. I guess that’s what fate is. Maybe all we can do is pray for those people and hope that they will be all right!! But I wish I could do more 🙂

    • Life isn’t fair in many ways, but then we always can learn something very valuable in every single thing. Perhaps you’ll get to do grand things Alex! I don’t doubt it. ❤

  9. What a great post, Ellie, your posts are always such great reminders. I am so saddened by the devastation that has happened because of the earthquakes and tsunamis 😦

    • Oh wow, I’m glad I can be of reminding help then! Let’s keep fightin’ on!

  10. It is really sad about the earthquake. I agree that these things make us sad but it can also be so easy to just not worry too much about it because they happen so far away. And because they happen far away they often don’t even get as much coverage on the news either. So we have to keep reminding ourselves. Thanks for this honest post.
    And thanks for commenting on my blog so that I could find yours, I really like your thoughts!

    • Yeahhh and truth is, we should always be ‘awake’ no matter what 🙂

  11. pray for japan

  12. This was a beautiful post. I haven’t been too up to date with the earthquake since I’ve been so engrossed in school work, but this struck a chord with me so I am going to go read up on it and think about it and pray for all those affected. Thank you so much for your insights and inspiration!!

    • I am so thankful this post was used in your life! Keep goin’ girl 🙂

  13. Beautiful post Ellie 🙂

    • 🙂 thanks Allison~

  14. Can I just remind you how beautiful of a person you are? From your blog posts, to your comments and now this amazing post…I cannot get enough. If only we all had a spirit like this, God has given us so much life and I can’t even begin to describe how GOOD it is 🙂

    Love you sista!

    • Aww thanks so much for your encouragement Meg~! I’m just so glad that I can be used somehow in someone else’s life or day 😛 Amen to your words! He wants to give us life abundant

  15. This post really touched me because I too have these kinds of thoughts from time to time, especially when devastation comes over an entire nation and potentially one side of the world. I try to incorporate others, even stangers, into my daily prayers and thoughts. More than that, I strive to show my compassion through action – volunteering, donations, etc. It breaks my heart when I think about all the people in Japan and elsewhere who lost everything, but they are in my thoughts and prayers and hopefully my actions depict that too. Great post!

    • Thank you for sharing those thoughts Parita! And I think it’s great that you show compassion through action. I call it..’compaction’ 🙂 More importantly, I hope to live ‘awake’ everyday rather than only in hard times.

  16. Ellie, estoy contigo en tus pensamientos sobre todo lo sucedido en este terremoto de Japón. Yo escribí un relato de una historia de verdadero amor en estos días…
    http://1cruzdelsur.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/terremoto-de-japon%e2%80%a6-%e2%80%9cno-te-detengas%e2%80%9d%e2%80%a6/
    http://1cruzdelsur.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/terremoto-de-japon-lucha-y-esperanza/
    http://1cruzdelsur.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/terremoto-de-japon-km-860-en-la-ruta-del-amor/
    Saludos

  17. My sister and her family (and my mom too) are in Japan and I’ve been in so much stress since last Friday.. ='( Please pray for their safety and hopefully they’d be able to be back in Manila soonest!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

    • Hey Viv! Oh no~~yesss I’m definitely praying for them~that’s really hard to believe. God be with your family! I know He will be. hang in there sista! <33

  18. Wonderful thoughts, I think we can all relate. Sometimes I think I’m afraid to really care, because then I’ll have to do something to help and it might not be easy or comfortable. I forget that the reason I’m here on earth is to do something!

    • Thank you for the honest and thought provoking words Emily! yes, we’re made to do something and BE something 🙂

  19. I think this is especially poignant:

    “Life is truly so short. Sometimes, it dawns on me ever so strongly as to how utterly futile it is unless we live with a purpose.”

    Thank you for exploring this further in this post. 🙂

    • I mean every word of it too! Gosh~I’m so silly. When I read that quote, I thought to myself “that looks so familiar”. duh! haha it’s from my own self. 😛


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

