Sunshine Bars

March 14, 2011 at 12:04 AM | Posted in Daily Inspiration, Desserts, Food, Food for Thought, God, Health, Nutrition, Post Workout Fuel, Recipes, Relationships, Snax | 40 Comments

Hey my lovely friends!

I hope you’re all having a blessed Sunday whilst staying safe! πŸ™‚

Thank you for all the feedback and sharing about your thoughts in the comments from the last post.Β  It truly shows that we’re all wanting to pull together during these times.Β  I hope that we will continue to stay awake in our hearts and spirits during times of crisis, as well as during times of ease.

Snack Recipe

These bars can be eaten raw or baked.Β  Either way is totally fine, and either way they taste delicious! I don’t want to toot my own horn, but I have to admit I liked these so much raw AND baked, that I ate two of them for breakfast while driving this morning.Β  *ahem*Β  I know I should be more careful, but they’re just bars! πŸ™‚

Sunshine Bars *VN*

Ingredients:

1/2 C (heaping measurement) raw almonds

2 TBSP raw walnuts

1/2 C oats

1/2 coconut flour (essential for flavor)

4 TBSP brown rice syrup

3 TBSP maple syrup

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

some yogurt or chocolate chips

3-4 dried mangoes (I used TJ’s unsulphured)

Directions:

Set your oven or toaster oven to 350 F.

Then, in a food processor grind up the nuts, oats, and coconut flour.Β  When that is coarsely ground, add all the other ingredients minus the yogurt/choc chips and the mango slices.

Now the mixture should be like a fine meal-like texture, and slightly sticky to the touch.

Simply add the mango slices and process it some more.Β  Lastly, fold in the yogurt/choc chips.Β  I divided the mixture into 2 because I wanted to try the bars half baked and half raw.

Then, lightly spray a pan (I used half of a loaf pan for half of the mixture) and evenly press it into the pan.Β  Bake for approximately 8-10 minutes. When they’ve cooled down, you can cut them into as many pieces as you desire.Β  If you can wait for them to cool down, that is. πŸ˜€

For the raw bars, I split the mixture into 3 logs and formed them into perfectly shaped bars.Β  Ta-daaa!

Basically, you can shape them and cut them into whatever manner you wish!


And then add the mango slices and chop it up…You can just sub it with regular Philippine mangoes! Mmmm ❀

This is what it looks like when it’s baked.Β  It’s almost like a crisp on the outside, and yet chewy-on-the-inside cookie, and can be eaten as dessert or even a post workout snack!Β  The almonds and walnuts provide a good measure of protein.

When they’re raw, they have a tropical flavor with the coconuts and mangoes. They feel like a cross-over between a Larabar and a Pure Bar. I love Larabars, but I find the Pure Bars to be more satisfying, more versatile, and slightly better than the Larabars.

I hope you enjoy them!Β  My family and I sure did. πŸ˜€

*****************

Today, service was so filled with God’s blessings of conviction on all of us!Β  Pastor Daniel spoke about how we should always examine our hearts, reject, and cast out thoughts of compromise and reasons for justifying our actions, or lack of action for that which is good.

My friend Lim is going to Italy for a couple of months! (That’s her hometown)Β  I feel like so many people in my life are always going somewhere, but I know we’ll be together in spirit. πŸ™‚Β  I know it’s all part of God’s beautiful plan.

Cwazy lovely gurl….. ❀

Please check out my last post regarding Japan if you haven’t yet! And please consider helping with donations if that is something you can afford.Β  Every cent helps! I provided links on my last post.

Let us not forget these people in hardship.Β  Whether there may be turmoil around the world or whether there is ‘peace’, let’s always live intentionally and in an ‘awake’ state of mind.

Oh, and if you get around to it, please encourage our friend Elle Marie who lives in Japan!Β  She’s a fellow blogger that some of you may already know.

My Question:Β  Are people in and out of your life (physically) pretty consistently?Β  What are you grateful for?Β  I’m grateful for breath, love, God’s peace and His Word.Β  Now, did I entice you with this recipe? πŸ˜›


Love,

Ellie <33

40 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”
    -W.C. Fields

  2. This looks absolutely amazing! I LOVE tropical anything, though I would surely find some way to include pineapples into this recipe. And who doesn’t like things in bar form? I like eating. I like going places. Eating while going places is the best way to go! πŸ˜€

    • you know what? I thought of pineapples too, haha that would be great.

  3. Great snacks when you are on the go.

    • πŸ˜€ Thanks~

  4. AMAZING looking bars! You definitely enticed me πŸ˜‰

    What a pretty picture of you and your friend! And I’m thankful for the EXACT same things you are (and of course my family and all my animals! πŸ™‚ )

    Have the most amazing week, sweet girl!! πŸ™‚

    ❀

    • Make sure you try ’em out Alex! πŸ˜€ You too, have a great day ❀

  5. Your bars look awesome! Such a great recipe!!

    • πŸ™‚ Thanks Jem

  6. those bars look amazing, so delicious! Love the flowers how pretty makes me excited for spring!

    • haha when I took the flower pictures I snapped at least 12 photos of them!

  7. Those bars look amazing! I’m praying for everyone in Japan and grateful for my loving husband and family πŸ™‚

    • AWw yes, let’s keep goin’ and not give up! I like how you call your husband “loving” πŸ™‚

  8. Loving those bars! I’m always on the hunt for something I can take on the go. Love how versatile they are with the bake/no bake πŸ™‚

    • These are definitely what you may be lookin’ for πŸ˜€

  9. Gosh darn I need to get coconut flour!! These sound so good, and I am ALWAYS looking for a new granola or snack bar to make. i seriously love them. I have made so many I cant even keep track πŸ™‚

    • I bet you can finely grind coconut flakes Kat!

  10. I’m definitely enticed by this recipe! I love that it can be enjoyed both raw and baked. I still need to jump on this coconut flour bandwagon though πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a great week!

    • *cackle* πŸ˜› Don’t worry, I bet you can even make these with ground coconut flakes.

  11. Woo!! With the dried mango and the nuts and the raw, these remind me of my sunflower mango snack bites, but BETTER because yours have coconut flour! I’m guessing that you mean 1/2 “cup” oats and coconut flour in the recipe? I’ll have to try these asap!

    • Yes yes 1/2 CUP! haha thanks Hannah~I must have looked through it too quickly πŸ˜› Ohhhh i haven’t tried your snack bites, but I bet they’re fabulous. If you make these, I suggest you try them baked too πŸ™‚

  12. Those bars look really good! I just tried a Larabar for the first time a few days ago and I really liked it. I’ve never had a Pure bar before, but I bet your bars are even better πŸ™‚

    • Oh wow! glad you tried larabars, they’re good πŸ˜€ but I’m starting to like pure bars a bit more. And you’re too kind for that complement! πŸ˜›

  13. Those sunshine bars look GREAT! And I love the name!! πŸ™‚

    • Ohh Rach! I was going to email you! but just pleasantly saw your comment πŸ˜€ B/c I was getting concerned i haven’t seen you around anywhere! So thought maybe something was going on, or perhaps you were just FASTING blogging hehe.

      • Aww! You are so sweet! It’s hard for me to keep up with blogs over the weekends so sometimes I seem to disappear. But I always try to catch up come Monday! πŸ™‚

  14. I like that you can have these raw or baked! πŸ˜€

    • Hehe and I like them both ways πŸ™‚

  15. The bars look so amazing!!! Great job, girl! When I started college I felt like my friends were always gone, but now that we’ve all finished it’s so nice to have everyone back at home. I hope your friend has fun in Italy!

    • I really was tempted to go in her suitcase and follow her around πŸ˜›

  16. Yum! I want to try these..

    Whitney

    • Try ’em Whitney! ^.~

  17. ah yes, you’ve enticed me with this reipce. (i’ve never heard of coconut flour before! sounds excellent!) to answer your question, it does seem that people come in and out of my life fairly regularly. i go to a very multiculturaled church and often people come to Sydney for only a year or two, (or however long their visas allow them for.) but hey, i’ll always have a place to stay if i travel the world!

    • Oh that’s crazy~I bet it’s hard, but I’m sure there’s so much blessing in that. Perhaps God uses it somehow to never settle in one place, but always ready to take on something grand? πŸ˜€ And you’ll definitely have homes to stay at!

  18. Those bars looks delish!!! Yum!

    • Thanks Toni πŸ™‚

  19. Hey Ellie!
    That recipe looks truly amazing, and the pictures look gorgeous!
    Right now, I really couldn’t be more thankful for my family and their support ❀

    • I’m sure with college preps, you can use all the support you can get from them πŸ™‚ thanks I think these photos are quite not so good b/c it was at night haha. But if there’s anything pretty in it, it’s my new used-canon πŸ˜›

  20. Coconut and mango. Sounds like tasty tropical bars. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • You’re welcome! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

