Wanna Be Creamy Salmon Pasta

March 19, 2011 at 1:30 PM | Posted in Dinner, Food, Health, Inspiration, Recipes | 32 Comments

Toodle-looo!! :DHope you are having a mahhhvelous (Brit accent) Saturday!

On my last post, I briefly mentioned that I had a pasta recipe to share with you.  This is a very unique spin-off of Olive Garden’s Gorgonzola and Mascarpone with Pear Ravioli and Shrimp.  Boy, that was a mouth-full!

It’s not quite the same as Olive Garden’s pasta obviously, but the creamy and slightly sweet factor is still noticeable in this dish.  Plus, I realized right when I started cooking that I don’t have all the beautiful ingredients that make OG’s dish:  Gorgonzola cheese and Pears.:P

Nevertheless, I really thought it was recipe worthy.:) And if this fact appeases your mind, then just know that it was little Daniel approved. ^.~*

I assure you that this pasta is very creamy and full of protein–trust me, it will keep you full for quite a while!

Creamy Mascarpone Salmon Pasta

Inspired by Olive Garden

Ingredients:

2.5 C almond milk

1/2 C greek yogurt

2 TBSP mascarpone cheese

1 TBSP wheat flour (optional)

1 TBSP arrowroot powder (or cornstarch)

1 minced garlic clove

1/4 C cheese (I used what I had; parmesan)

2 cups of cubed salmon

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp sea salt

some black pepper

1/2 lemon

some chopped basil

pasta of your choice (I used whole wheat+sweet potato gnocchi and whole wheat penne)

Directions:

First, grab a medium-large bowl and whisk together all the ingredients except for the arrowroot powder and lemon juice.

Then, heat a medium pot on med-high heat and pour the creamy mixture.  Let it cook for approximately 5-7 minutes.   While that cooks, cube the salmon and have it ready.

Cook the pasta of your choice in a separate medium pot.

Now squeeze the lemon into the creamy mixture while it’s cooking, and stir occasionally.  It will start to bubble up, and then throw in the arrowroot powder (or cornstarch; this is the thickening agent) and keep stirring.  It may take a while for it to thicken up, so be patient.

After 5 more minutes or so, add the cubed salmon pieces.  When the salmon is gently cooked, turn off the heat and you are done!!

This makes about 6 medium sized servings.


Interestingly enough, I thought that I would L.O.V.E. this sweet potato gnocchi more than the original one, but turns out that it was just good.  It wasn’t what I expected, but it was yummy regardless.  I never dislike food anyway!


Tips for next time:

The original Olive Garden pasta actually contained balsamic vinegar!!  I can’t believe that I had forgotten about that crucial ingredient! And so, next time I would add…

  • Balsamic vinegar
  • pears!!!
  • gorgonzola cheese instead of parm

I really enjoyed this dish, and I hope you will too.  The next day I had it for dinner while at school and added balsamic vinegar.  This is essential and it makes a world of a difference! So I suggest you add that from the very beginning.

By the way, God willing I’ll be back soon to share this with you…

Have a blessed day y’all!!! Cheeri-ohh!

Grace & Peace,

Ellie <33

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW does that look amazing? You’re totally having me regretting my complete walk-by the fish section at the farmers market today!!! Maybe next time! The sauce is creative and sounds interesting!! Definitely wanna try it out at some point…maybe when i’m not cramming for tests. 😦 BOO.

    hope youre having a fabulous saturday!!

    • ohh I’m sure you can make it with any other seafood/chicken/tofu/anything! haha. Hope your studying is going welll~~~ 🙂

  2. I love creamy pasta! I’ve never added marscarpone cheese before, must be so decadent 😀 I love the pic at the end, I wanna know what it is O_O

    • A little bit of it goes a looong way! 😛

  3. Pretty pictures! 🙂

    Whitney

    • Thanks Whitney~the Canon does all the work 😛

  4. Such a great meal! So restautantish! 🙂

    • Yayy haha b/c I was actually thinking the pasta photo looked funny. I think it’s the lighting 🙂

  5. YUM I have to make this! wayyyy healthier then getting it out to eat.

    • Yes definitely better ingredients! And it’s actually not too far apart from the restaurant ones IMO ^.~

  6. Yum!

  7. I love anything creamy this looks so delish!

  8. This looks so good, although my blue-cheese obsession means that I definitely would love to hear about the gorgonzola version next time 🙂 And ooooh, that last photo looks enticing!

    • I knowww something about the moldy stannnkiness that makes it so good huh? 😛

  9. That looks incredible!! 😀 Although I would probably sub something for the salmon… chickpeas, tofu, sweet potatoes… I’m sure something would work wonderfully!! 🙂

    Have a fantastic week!

    • definitely many things would taste great in here like your suggest.–I foresee kabocha/butternut squash being really good in this. And I’m thinking that something like hazelnuts or walnuts would be great in it too~ 😛

  10. This sounds so delicious! I never use salmon in pasta, but this looks like a great recipe!!

    • Thanks Soph 😀

  11. if only I liked fish!! This sounds good otherwise though :):)

    • wow you don’t like fish? haha I could eat fish every single meal if reality allowed 😛

  12. I love taking restaurant dishes and making them my own. Olive garden has some great options but I always seem to forget about them! Great recipe!

    • yeah they do have great stuff, and great service!

  13. Sounds like a yummy dish!! Balsamic makes everything better! I have been wondering about that gnocchi, too, glad to hear your review of it!

    Absolutely can’t wait to find out what the yummy looking treat is!!

    • the gnocchi isn’t as sweet as you’d imagine, but it’s yummy 🙂

  14. I have never had salmon pasta before, this looks great!

    • actually the shrimp in it was delicious too!! but I used all the ingredients that i had on hand. Hence, the salmon. (i love it anyways) 🙂

  15. This sounds/looks so absolutely delish! I have been writing up a salmon post today and between that and drooling over your creamy salmon pasta… oh man… salmon needs to be on the menu again stat! Thanks for the recipe and the tips! =)

    • oOoOo I’ll take a look at your post!

  16. Mmmm…. looks good! I have all the ingredients except the milk and yogurt! I’d like to try this! =D

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

    • Hi Viv! yess let me know how you like it if you do try it 🙂

  17. […] If you were wondering the other day what this dessert or snack was… […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

