Quick Protein Pineapple Upside Down Cake

March 23, 2011 at 2:56 PM | Posted in Dinner, Fitness, Food, Health, Nutrition, Post Workout Fuel, Recipes | 46 Comments

What a long title eh?!

If you were wondering the other day what this dessert or snack was

then here’s your answer…It’s a Protein Pineapple Upside Down Cake for post-workout or even breakfast!

I know I know, this may seem like a weird idea to some of you.Β  But I assure you that if you love protein powder, then this won’t disappoint.Β  Or so I hope. πŸ˜›

Half of the time when I cook or bake, I use what I already have lying around my pantry and fridge.Β  That wasn’t always the case, but I realized that as i started blogging, I’ve become more flexible in improvisation.Β  One downfall to this is that I cannot follow a recipe anymore.Β  I always find myself tweaking it! haha!

Granted, there are those times when I’ll actually go out of my way to buy all these amazing ingredients:Β  special flours, grains, breads, and the newly discovered vanilla bean powder.Β  πŸ™‚

But this is for another day.

Quick Protein Pineapple Upside Down Cake *VN*

Ingredients:

1/3 C unsweetened crushed pineapple (or as much as you need to cover up the bottom of your baking pan)

1 scoop protein powder (I used French Vanilla)

2 TBSP quinoa flakes (oats work too)

1/2 tsp chia or flax

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 C almond milk

Directions:

First grab a little baking pan or ramekin.Β  I used a ramekin of about 5″ (estimated).Β  Lightly spray the ramekin and cover up the whole bottom part with the pineapple pieces.

Then, grab a medium bowl and simply stir everything up until it becomes a cake-like consistency!! Then eat a spoonful because it tastes perhaps even better than cake batter!

Pour the batter into the ramekin.Β  Don’t worry–the pineapple won’t disperse.

Bake it at approximately 350 F for 12 minutes.

After cooling down, flip it and plate it so that the pineapple is right side up. πŸ˜€

Ta-daaa! Enjoy a quick pineapple upside down with your favorite toppings.Β  This serves only 1 hungry individual.

Have a blessed day and I’ll see you soon!!

Grace & Peace,

Ellie <33

46 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yummy! Unfortunately, I’m allergic to pineapple 😦

    • ohhh nooooo~i’ve never even heard of pineapple allergies! but you could def. make this apple or peach! πŸ˜€

      • really? do you think you could use applesauce or would it need to be actual chopped apples?

        • I think applesauce WOULD work but I would want CHUNKS in there! so I’d go with chopped/sliced apple πŸ˜€

  2. Wow, that looks very easy to make. And I agree, such a long title. Haha =p

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

    • I need better names for my recipes lol

  3. WOW, you are good! That looks like such a great recipe πŸ™‚

    • kkkkkk thanks Nat πŸ˜€

  4. I looove pineapple upside down cake! Mmm.
    Hope you’re keeping dry today πŸ™‚

    • thank you Flo!! I love rain! but I guess i’ve been trying to be more careful NOT walking in it b/c they’re warning us to beware of radiation? you too~stay safe out there! <33

  5. Great way to up your protein! Love this recipe. I love simple things I can make without having to buy anything! πŸ™‚

    • yeahh i agree~sometimes going fancy is awesome, but sometimes, simple things are great especially when there’s lots to do πŸ™‚

  6. This looks delicious! I love pineapple- such a treat in the spring and summer πŸ™‚

    • yeahhh can’t wait till they’re ripe in the summer especially

  7. Thuis looks so easy and simple to make and most of all it looks so darn tasty!

    • yeahhh it took me less than…8 minutes? haha not 5, not 10. eight. πŸ˜€

  8. That looks absolutely fabulous! And it’s so quick too?!

  9. Oh wow, this looks amazing!

  10. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say hi πŸ™‚
    This little cake looks so tasty! I love that the recipe makes only one serving! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Justeen thank you for the sweet HI! that always delights moi πŸ™‚

  11. can I say YUM?? I’ve never thought to make a mini upsidedown cake before, how clever!!
    what could you sub for the protein powder?

    • Hi!~ohhh i’m sure you can sub mannnnyyy things. Like, oat flour, perhaps quinoa flour?!! or just plain flour πŸ˜› Or coconut flour! ahhaha it’s endless. but you’d have to add vanilla for the flavoring

  12. I’d love to have this for breakfast!

  13. Yum!

  14. What a cute upside down cake! I’ve been craving pineapple upside down cake recently and this is perfect!

    • Thanks Meg~ :)cute cakes are so fun huh?

  15. Mmm . . . I love pineapple. This looks so good!

    • Fresh pineapple especially–incomparable πŸ™‚

  16. I love seeing what people buy at Whole Foods. And I think you should gimme that cake. Thanks πŸ™‚

    Whitney

    • I would if I could! πŸ˜€

  17. yum! too bad I don’t have any protein powder

  18. Mmmm, looks perfect for a post work out snack. Wish I had one right now!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  19. This is so cute! I love protein powder and I love pineapple so this clearly is a winning combo! Not to mention, I love flax seed!

  20. Um, darling, would you like to rethink your plans and marry me instead? This looks SO GOOD!!!!!

    • haha omgoodness…I thought for a second that you were a creepy man stalking me. (note: I didn’t look at your photo at first.) only me only me!! πŸ˜›

  21. THIS LOOKS AMAZING!
    I love pineapple ❀

  22. This looks so good! Similar to a single-serving muffin I did with coconut and chocolate chips.

    I love that you can use any chopped fruit really…hmm blueberries? And I’d throw in raisins just because I love them.

    • haha sounds like a great idea~~

  23. OH snap this looks amazing…I wanna try different variations of it and top it with lots of whipped cream and nut butta!

  24. This looks absolutely delicious! I’ve never had an upside down cake before. Too bad I don’t have a pineapple right now.
    Do you think I make this using a sweet potato?

    By the way, I love your blog. Thank you for commenting. I subscribed and followed you on twitter πŸ™‚

    • oh yes! sweet potato or anything else would work great. Thank you for the sweet comment Megan~you’re so cute πŸ™‚

  25. Hi beautiful! This recipe looks so simple and delicious, I’ve been loooving pineapple lately so I’m excited to attempt this πŸ™‚ take care and God bless!

    • Thanks Nicole! You too take care!

  26. this is SO COOL!! an elaborate dessert made easy- so clever!

    • haha yea it looks fancy shmancy but oh so simple

  27. WOW! This looks freaking amazing!!! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

