Wedding Prep Phase #1

March 28, 2011 at 11:09 PM | Posted in Culture, Daily Inspiration, Food, Inspiration, Relationships | 52 Comments
Tags:

Hi friends!! Yes yes, I finally had the chance to take some time and browse through a handful of wedding magazines at Ralphs! Hmmm you still remember that I’m engaged right?  I haven’t talked about it much on this blog lately.

I took Kat’s suggestion to go out and hunt for mags.  She’s such a sweetheart! I once had left a comment regarding wedding planning and she emailed me a bunch of suggestions. ❤

This is the 2nd time in my life ever buying a magazine. 0_o” It is strange, I agree, haha!  It’s just that.. I don’t usually like what magazines promote to already beautifully created humans, and the messages they convey aren’t helpful to women for the most part.

However, I have to point out that wedding magazines are awesome!  Perhaps these will be my staple reads all the way into my ripe old age? 😛

I totally realize that the world doesn’t revolve around me, but I know some of you have been wanting to see updates regarding this matter.  And plus, what girl (or guy?) doesn’t want talk about marriage and weddings?  Okay okay, some of you don’t..

Guess which ones I chose.

Real Simple Weddings is so easy to read and it’s so very helpful in the way that it breaks down wedding planning altogether.  SCORE!!! 😀  I don’t know if it’s just me, but when I see magazine pages they make my eyes go googly because the pages look so busy and all over the place.  So this one is definitely a keeper.

The Insider is great in that it shows little cute ideas for decorations, planning, and even DIY projects.  I know that there are also many great websites out there!

As of now, Greg and I are just talking about budget, wedding location, and the very basic deals.  We both love the outdoors, but we would want our guests to be able to hear the beautiful vows and all that jazz!  Or else, what’s the point?  At the same time, indoors may be safer because everything can be better controlled.  Any suggestions or opinions? 😀  I’d love to hear them pretty please!

As for this past weekend, there were many unphotographed events and delicious eats.

I just love cooking for Greg and love seeing him enjoy the food I make. 🙂  Haha yep, we always light candles when we eat together.  Is that old-fashioned? *giggle*

And just what do I do when I have a handful of old veggies and delicious fruit?  I go ahead and juice the life out of them for G-money and my fam.  Got to get those vitamins!

And this is a really simple Korean side dish called sheegheumchee namool. Say it with me, sheegheumchee…it’s one of my fave Korean foods and it’s basically spinach!  I’ll give you the recipe someday if you like.

Time with Russell was well spent, too.  It was such a treat and blessing to see him! I feel like he’s my biological dad haha.

This one cracks me up! Russ is trying to stick in his stomach and Greg is trying to stick it out to look like him. 😛

As much as I refused to let him buy me anything, he ended up buying Greg some really nice suits on sale, and 2 outfits for me.

I shopped at Express and got some good bargains!  I got a pair of form-fitting slacks and this adorable dress.  It was hard using the DSLR to take a shot of myself 😛  *NOTE:  you have been warned about my pale legs!  But running is getting them darker slowly*

And Daniel’s walkin’ hurrayyyyy! It’s so cute when he’s about to topple over.

My Question:  So what are your ideas in regards to wedding locations, etc.?  Where do you like to shop normally?  What was the best part about your weekend?

P.S.:  Sophia’s going through some rough times, let’s encourage her! 🙂

Sweet Jemma is giving away some crazy snacks by the way! Mmmmm

Thankful to my readers,

Ellie <33

52 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Girl I’m just as pale as you are.
    I love making carrot and apple juice with fresh fruits when I’m at my parent’s house as well.

    • oh the life of an asian girl. 😛 we’re so pale haha! flo did you stop updating your blog? just wonderin’ b/c it seems that it hasn’t been…unless i’m mistaken? 🙂

  2. Hi Ellie,
    I stumbled across your blog and I am loving it!

    Blessings
    Lorne

    • Lorne, thanks so much for dropping by! 🙂 I saw yours too and it’s lovely

  3. Wow! This is great!

    Choose Happiness & Success!
    Jennifer

  4. I am in a wedding dress hunt now, let me know if find anything pretty:)

    • I will for sure Coco! 🙂 Although like, 1 year ago I DID find some really beautiful gowns on david bridal’s website! come to think of it, I hope it’s still saved! at least so that I can see the style

  5. I bought that same exact dress from Express! But they didn’t have black when I went, so I settled for dark green! I can’t wait to hear about decisions you make for the wedding!! So excited for you!

    • oh i saw the olive one! I wanted that one but they didn’t have my size haha.

  6. Ellie, you are adorable, I love that black dress!! So cute!

    Wedding planning is so much fun, so excited for you guys!!

    I used to love New York and Company, but they’ve been kind of disappointing here lately, I need a new place to shop!

    • Oh i know! NY and Co. was so nice! but~it’s kind of bland nowadays. do you have H&M where you live?

  7. i love that dress! super cute 🙂

  8. Ahhh!! Wedding planning!! Love it! 😀 Looking through wedding magazines was one of my favorite things too! And I’m not gonna lie, 2.5 years married and I STILL love looking at wedding magazines, haha!

    We got married in August in the South so outside wasn’t an option, haha! It’s nice to be able to control everything if it is indoors, but outdoor weddings are so gorgeous! And you know what, even if the weather doesn’t behave, that doesn’t mean the day is ruined. Some of our friends had an outside wedding planned for May and it STORMED. So everyone got wet, there was mud everywhere, everyone was crowded together standing under a tent where you could hardly even hear… and yet… it was a beautiful wedding. Erin (the bride) was radiant and her joy just radiated to everyone. So technically it was such a messy day, but it was still SUCH a beautiful wedding. So, if you guys want to do an outdoor wedding – that’s totally okay! Even if the weather doesn’t cooperate, it’ll be great ’cause it’ll be the two of you, wedding vows and those who love you most all there. 🙂

    • hehe I love your energy Rach! Thanks for this support! I’m an optimist too so I guess IF anything did go wrong, I’d just take it as a blessing in disguise 😀 it’s allll part of the wedding after all! of course…I’d want to divert any inconvenience still, if possible

  9. I still love looking at wedding magazines! I really wish I’d looked through them more when I was planning!

    If outdoor is really what you want, you can always have a back up location if it’s muddy, windy, or pouring rain. Just pick decorations that will work in either place. For us, we couldn’t do an outdoor wedding because of the expense of having to reserve two places, the cost of renting chairs and sound equipment, and such compared to just renting our church. So, set your budget first, and let that be your guide 🙂

    Ok, I have a recommendation too. I was in school for most of the time while I was planning our wedding, and it was SO stressful. I didn’t have much help at all until right before the end, and I ended up coordinating almost everything, and it was SO hard and not much fun. I found out later that people were willing to help, but they just didn’t think I needed it. So, ask people to help you plan! Right from the beginning! My cousin’s wedding was the most beautiful affair I’d ever seen, and she had two friends be the “coordinators,” and plan everything after she gave them a good idea of what she wanted. I’m sure it was much less stressful for her! Here’s pics from their wedding: http://www.johnallenphotography.com/#894913/Weddings

    • Emily you’re so sweet! thanks for all this great advice!! and the pics are beautiful!!!! I’m so glad that some girls are already excited and wanting to help 😀

  10. You look so freaking hot in that black dress, I love it! Wedding planning can be such a pain but definitely an experience you’ll never forget 😉

    • haha this made me smile Jenny 😀

  11. You are going to be a beautiful bride! And wedding mags are fun, aren’t they? Although they have a bunch of extra unnecessary ideas in there too. I’m like you and preferred simple, more basic.

    • way fun! 🙂 so fun that I stayed up late reading through them…haha.

  12. How exciting! I can’t wait to plan my wedding in the very, very distant future. I should probably find a guy first, haha!

    • and you’ll get a great guy I’m so sure! cuz you’re a great gal Kate 🙂 who knows, you never know when it may happen~~~

  13. You are too cute! I love it! And my favorite places to shop are Banana Republic, the Loft, and Limited -> all for work clothes btw. You can find great deals in the sale racks. 🙂

    • did someone say SALE?!! it’s like, one of my fave words lol i always get everything on sale. banana is awesome! I think the men’s line is especially very nice.

  14. Hey, girl! I’m SO glad to have found your blog 🙂 I’m 23 and planning a wedding, too! I love looking in wedding magazines. There are so many neat ideas!

    • YAYYYY!! haha I guess 23 is truly the AGE TO BE huh?!!I’m pretty stoked about the DIY type stuff not only to save money, but it just seems so fun!

  15. Yay wedding stuff!! I was waiting for you to post about this, I may or may not be a bit obsessed with weddings 🙂 I remember being engaged and literally spending every free moment in the book store surrounded by magazines and wedding books. It was such fun 🙂 LOVE the pic of you in the black dress!! It looks so great on you!!

    • aww thanks Kat! haha yeah~I foresee many trips to Barnes&Noble 🙂

  16. I’m so happy for you! What a huge blessing, looking forward to your beautiful future with your hubby! It’s incredible, marriage, when Christ in the Rock and the Center of it all. Life doesn’t stop getting better, and better, and better. Enjoy all the wedding planning!

    & oh my goodness, that juice looks so delicious and refreshing. I need to get my juice on one of these days.

    God bless! 🙂

    • This was so encouraging to read Nicole! I know that it can get so discouraging when ppl say that marriage is only good at the beginning, etc. But I truly think it’s about what you make of it! And with Christ it truly can’t go wrong IF we let Him take charge. 🙂

  17. You’re a sweet, sweet soul, Ellie!!!! I love you!!!!

    I have to be honest and say I’m not a wedding person….weddings don’t thrill me at all, but because it’s you and you deserve the best happiness ever, I’m THRILLED for you wedding 100%!!

    • I lava you mas!!!! haha I just love your uniqueness esp. with your dislike of weddings. But maybe someday that’ll change!~~ 😛 I think weddings are so wonderful b/c it’s just an initiation and reminder of how God woos us as His bride!

  18. I just got married in October in Los Angeles and know what a whirlwind the process can be! If you need any help or advice on local vendors please email me!! I have tons and had THE BEST wedding planner on the planet! And my money Saving website was projectwedding.com! Join the forums! The people there really helped me with things only crazy brides would go through! 🙂 good luck!

    • Omygosh you don’t know how helpful this is Joanna! so cool that you’re KIIIINDA close to where I am and you know the whereabouts of everything 😀

  19. Congratulations on the engagement and the upcoming wedding! Love is sure up in the air with you preparing food for him and all that candle lighted meals! I wish you two a happy wedding bliss!

  20. Congratulations to you. You are adorable and I love your blog!

    • awww hehe you’re too kind 🙂

  21. Beautiful, beautiful dress! And you’re more than welcome to come over anytime and read the millions of bride magazines my (non-engaged…) housemate has in our bathroom as reading material. You might get some awesome Aussie inspiration! 😉

    • how cool!~never even thought that Aussie style may just be different from American! sometimes, I like things to be different so i’ll def. check out things from different continents 😀

  22. What lovely healthy food you are eating. All of that looks great. Congrats!

    • thanks Ash!!

  23. Good luck with the wedding planning, it will fly by! My husband and I decided on a destination wedding in the Cayman Islands. We were married on the beach and it was so wonderful! 🙂

    • I’d love to see pictures Christina! 😀 I hear a lot about destination weddings these days. but we’re def. going to do it somewhere local. but it sounds so awesome and unique too!

  24. I love looking at wedding magazines. I once aspired to be a wedding planner and have helped plan some. My daughters love to watch David Tutera with me (they are 6 and 8). If you are doing your wedding yourself, make sure you have someone else directing the day, because you don’t want to be worrying about anything the day of. Congrats!

  25. weehh… you don’t know how excited I am for you Ellie!!!!! your wedding journey if going to be so much fun!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com

  26. By the way.. I love your dress! I like dresses like that. Good buy!

    And also.. (I hit the post comment button not realizing I still want to say a lot more hahaha) do visit Glamour Weddings often http://www.glamour.com/weddings. I got a LOT of good ideas from their site.. =D

    ….. i just want to say it again.. IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  27. Oh my gosh, you have no idea how much I LOVE weddings! Can’t wait to read all about yours! I’m going over to check out your engagement story now 😉

  28. AHHHH wedding preparation must be so exciting! I hope everything turns out for the best 😄

    Beauitful pictures btw…I love the veggies/fruit one!
    Nice to hear from you Ellie 🙂

  29. Wedding planning is so much fun! It took us about 18 months to plan our wedding and during that time I walked around religiously with at least one wedding mag each and every day!!! So much fun!!!!

    As a tip though, a good friend of mine who’s a wedding planner told me to avoid telling vendors its for a wedding when you can. For example, if you’re renting linens, place settings, chairs etc they don’t need to know! They will inflate the price the very second they know it’s for the big W!!

  30. […] thank each and every one of you for your kind sweet comments, and excitement for my engagement and wedding planning!  You guys truly know how to rejoice with others’ on their mountain tops in […]

  31. I missed this. Congratulations on your engagement!!!

    • haha thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

