What I Ate is Reese's Oat Bake!

April 13, 2011 at 11:42 PM | Posted in Breakfast, Culture, Fitness, Food, God, Health, Recipes | 51 Comments
Tags: , , ,

If there were ONE new food group that should be added unto the food pyramid, it should definitely be peanut butter chips!

Oh my goodness…these are so versatile and delicious, and I kind of love have an addiction to these.

Today I was craving PB Reese’s cups at the sight of these chips.  Of course, I love my oats too.  I thought to myself, “Well isn’t it wrong to eat Reese’s cups for breakfast?!”

I could not make up my mind as to what I should eat.  Sometimes, I wonder if this is the type of indecision that falls into the category of “Do not worry as to what you will eat or drink” when Jesus was talking to His disciples. 😛

You see, having come from a country where junk food and sweets are so sinfully delicious, nothing truly appealed to me here in the states; however, one faithful day I was introduced to PB cups.  My dear friends, life was never the same since then…It’s probably my favorite American chocolate treat!

So into the kitchen I went with the attempt to make a healthy breakfast version of Reese’s PB cups.

Of course, this isn’t EXACTLY like the real deal!  But it tasted prreeeetyyyy darn good if you ask me!

Reese’s Oat Bake

Ingredients:

1/4 C rolled oats

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 TBSP cocoa powder

1/2 TBSP ground flax

1/4 C almond milk

1/2 TBSP maple syrup

______

1 TBSP peanut butter (I used cinnamon raisin swirl)

1/2 medium banana

Directions:

Grab a small-medium bowl and mix all the dry ingredients first.  Then, add all the wet ingredients (except for the PB+banana) and make sure everything is mixed thoroughly.

Now grab a small bowl and mash the banana.  Stir it up with the PB until it becomes somewhat runny in consistency.

In a baking bowl or ramekin, pour the chocolate oat mixture.  Then, add the PB+banana mixture on top.

Bake it at 400 F for approximately 20 minutes.  This serves 1.

Work those mashin’ muscles!

So where do the PB chips fit in the picture? [pun very intended]

Of course, I topped the bake with the chips along with some pretzels! YUM.

I don’t usually document everything I eat in a day as I eat at least 5-7 times a day with good-sized portions.

Since today is Wednesday, I thought I’d do my first WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY just for the fun of it. 😀

This is a Coconut Dos Leches Cake that I came up with today and I’m not sure if it’s my fave recipe yet.  I need to see how it tastes when it’s cold!

Beware…I did eat a lot of sweet stuff today and it certainly wasn’t my healthiest day, hah! Hey we all have days like that, no? Don’t judge. 😉

These were some of my snacks in between work and studying.

I got these “Samoa”-like bars at TJ’s.  After I saw them in Janetha’s blog, I knew I wanted to try them.

Oops, I just realized that I didn’t photograph my salad and soup for lunch and dinner.  I did what I could, so it’s all good in the hood.

By the way, don’t you just love inexpensive clothes?  I got this dress for $15 at Ross the other day 😛 It is so comfy! Love comfy clothes.


Well I hope you’re all having a wonderful week so far!  May you have a joyous day tomorrow despite the storms that life may bring every now and then! We can be victorious and be on top of the mountain!


What would YOU want to make with the Reese’s PB chips?!

What’s your current “addiction”? (I don’t like that word yet I am still using it)

How do you deal with days when you don’t get enough fruit or veggies?

P.S:  Let’s continue to keep Japan in our thoughts and prayers–that the people may truly see hope through these times.

Much much love,

Ellie <33

51 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have to admit I don’t get the PB chocolate thing…. I have tried a Reeses cup once in my life. Am I really missing out on something good?

    • I used to not like PB stuff wayy in the past and then BOOM! things changed 😛

  2. I think your recreation looks great and sounds delicious!
    I am lucky to not have sweet tooth except for chocolates, I don’t even care the dulce de leech, I know, a sin for being an argentinean.

    • wow I can’t believe someone in this world doesn’t like dulce de leche! haha just kidding. It can be crazy decadent though.

  3. OMG I HAVE to make that this weekend!!! I just bought some PB chips too (different brand, but I’m sure they taste just as amazing 🙂 ) I enjoyed them just sprinkled on my oatmeal, but this looks even more wonderful!! I just need the banana, and I’ll have everything I need!! 😀

    And I’m definitely keeping Japan in my prayers – they need us 🙂

  4. Reese’s is so good!! I eat so much peanut butter now, it’s crazy!! But I can’t help it either!

  5. Omg how yummy!I can’t remember the last time I had a pb cup lol but those oats look incredible! I definitely am making this asap and I had a Luna Bar yesterday 😀

  6. Your dress is SO cute. I love the sleeves!

  7. Oh wow, this looks seriously amazing! I have to admit, I love Reese’s! I would probably make some kind of chocolate cookies with pb chips, the hubby would love those!

    My current addiction is chia seeds, I am putting them on and in everything!

    I have days that I feel like I eat too much sugar, or don’t get enough fruits/veggies, etc. and I usually just wake up the next morning and start the day off with a big glass of fresh fruit/veggie juice and get right back on track. We all need days to indulge our sweet tooth 🙂

  8. Oh wow your breakfast sounds great!
    Love the dress – it’s very pretty 🙂

  9. hmm i drink a fresh pressed veggie juice every day! when i feel like i’m lacking in nutrients, i grab another :). heheh. my current obsession is with freshly made cashew milk – it’s so delicious and hearty. i think it’s my favorite nut milk. 🙂

    cute dress! i like comfy, cute clothes!! btw, where were you living before you came to america??

    • cashew milk sounds cuhrazy in a good way! never would have thought of that! they should sell those haha. I guess making it at home would be awesome.

  10. ahhh you are from argentina! did you know that i am a spanish teacher? 🙂 hahaha i’ve traveled to mexico, peru, honduras, and spain 7 times!! i love spain soooo much. oh my, do you have a FB btw? hmm yea, my blog started out of my beauty/image/health issues too :). because of my health (and partly because of choice), i eat pretty much nonprocessed + organic + vegan. 🙂 i used to LOVE luna bars + soy yogurt, but had to give it up b/c my stomach wasn’t happy! i’m pretty big into working out too! i was running about 30 miles a week up until March. i switched to yoga/pilates/swimming now though :). hehehe.

    • si Junia!!! ya sabia ke sos una profe de espaniol! ( no enie haha) No puedo creer ke hayas ido a tantos lugares! 😛 have you been to argentina though? you should! hehehe

  11. Oh my heavens that oat bake looks AMAZING!! I love recipes like this. SO simple and yet sooo delicious:) And I really need to get to Ross. They always have the cutest summer dresses!! That one looks great on you!

    • thank you Kat! ❤

  12. That bake looks delicious! I need to buy some ramekins. My addiction right now is Peanut Butter Dreams by PB Co. OMG, eat of the jar good! Love it! And if I don’t eat fruits and veggies ,I don’t feel like my day’s complete, ya know!?

  13. Coconut Dos Leches Cake looks amazing!!

    I would want to make pb chip swirl miklshake! say whaaa? ahaha. doesnt that sound amazing?

    or in muffins! or cheesecake??

    • ok that sounds amazing Carlee. great ideas!

  14. Aiyah, we don’t need that much fruits and veggies…I think some people overload. We need to remember that most people in the world don’t have access to fresh produce and they get by fine. So what’s a day or two? It’s nothing. You’ll still be healthy and energetic. 🙂

    I never did like Reeses cups, to be honest…I was more of a Reeses pieces person! But your oat bake certainly sounds awesome!

    • omgshhhh! ok I so agree reeses pieces ARE awesome. It’s such a trap b/c they’re so tiny and you just keep on eating ’em haha

  15. I don’t even think I would make anything with those chips. I would just eat them plain!!

    • Yes, hence, I’m always around my pantry reaching into it 😛

  16. AHHH that looks delish!! i LOVE reeses- omg.. chocolate and PB is so good together. and that dress is adorable!

  17. I’m a huge peanut butter/chocolate fan so I’d be obsessed with that. And I found a dress at TJ Maxx just the other day for $15 and I was debating on whether or not I should get it but I went with it because when else do you find a really cute dress that fits great and looks cute!?

    • true that! 🙂

  18. I’ve just stumbled upon your blog and this looks really delicous AND simple! Bookmarking the recipe! 😉

  19. that sounds so good! Happy Friday! I love the dress 😉

  20. Peanut butter chips are the bomb. I prefer them over chocolate chips. Shocker, I know. But I love them that much 😀

    • that’s not a shocker 😀

  21. the mashing is one of the best parts! wow this recipe is FABULOUS! i also noticed the Safeway label in the back as well as starbucks- woot!! ❤

  22. This is exactly what I’d do with Reese’s chips!! Looks to die for, Ellie! I also love that photo on the top of the mountain, gosh it’s so fantastic!

    I usually just try to eat more veg and fruit the day after I’ve missed them. No biggie, though 🙂

    • Yes yes I make up for it too the next day. I love veggies but when you’re runnin’ around, I guess you have to have abetter plan haha!

  23. I have to buy those Reese’s chips ASAP. My husband will LOVE them. I don’t think it’s bad to have Reese’s pb cups for breakfast. 🙂 That Luna bar is also on my list to get this weekend. It sounds delicious!

  24. Hi Ellie! Your Reese’s Oat Bake looks soo good! That would definitely be one thing I would try with the reese’s chips. I might also try and do a chocolate cookie with the chips in it. This is making me HUNGRY! ahhh

    • yeahhh I was thinking of choc cookies. BUT!! I feel like it’d be way too rich for ME at least hehe

  25. I am not one to mic PB and chocolate but I will admit this looks terrific!

  26. That Reese’s Oat Bake looks fabulous! I love the chocolate and peanut butter combo!

  27. this post just magically made me feel happier 🙂 your enthusiasm is catching ❤

    i love your dress! and yes pb chips are the best thing EVER. they're delightful in cookies. esp mama pea's pb dough balls. ohhh yum. though that oatbake is mighty tempting…

    • awww that’s sweet Nicole!~glad that it made you smiiiiile : DDD

  28. Please marry me instead. This looks SO GOOD.

  29. Oh my sweet deliciousness I am drooling all over my keyboard. Reese’s are amazing and oh, peanut butter is just amazing in general.

    LOVE that dress, you’re beautiful 🙂

  30. How yummy!! PB AND CHOCOLATE ROCKS! And that recipe looks amazing 🙂
    I don’t really stress on days I don’t eat enough veggies/fruit, but I do try to make up for it the next day! It comes naturally though- I love ’em! XD

    Current addiction? Kashi cereals and peanut butter…but that’s always been true!

  31. Thanks for posting on my blog (and I loved your honesty) so I could find yours! Currently I am addicted to the Amazing Grass Superfood. That stuff is SO good mixed in smoothies, yogurt, oatmeal, etc…LOVE IT!

  32. I love Resses! I have such a soft spot for them- I like them baked into a classic chocolate chip cookie the best.

  33. wow, this sounds awesome! I love anything with peanut butter and chocolate mixed together! yum!

  34. The Reese’s Oat Bake looks so so yummy!! What a great sweet breakfast!! When I don’t get enough fruit or veggies in one day, I decide to go extra hard for the rest of the week to make up for that day! 🙂

  35. Woah baby 🙂
    That’s my kind of breakfast!

    Whitney

  36. Oh girl, that looks so yummy! Reeses used to be my favorite candy back before I knew about my heart problems. 🙂

    And I love your dress! I love Ross for that very reason… great deals! 🙂

    • aww wish you could still have some sweets! hehe well~so many great alternatives these days. perhaps we should healthify all these candies and sell ’em! 😉

  37. i’ve never seen those pb chips! must be on the lookout now 😀 love the dress!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

