Earnestly StuDYING

January 21, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Posted in Daily Inspiration, Food for Thought | 2 Comments

On Fridays I volunteer with Greg (my boyfriend) in Kennedy Elementary School, which is an inner city school in the OC.  We help 5th graders with their homework after school as well as teach them about lottssssss of things, including God.  We try to be the best encouragement and example to them as we can!  I mean, they go through so many situations everyday that go ignored and un-spoken about.

They're so precious!

Today is my last day of this online course I’ve been taking during the winter break! Yahoooooo!! (You’re not reading this Professor Wu, are ya? 0_O )   My final is due by tonight and I’ve been stuDYING for hours now.  Hence, this post is now being typed out.  I’m just taking a few minutes breather you know? 🙂

I miss the kids so much!  I’m soooooo grateful to have Greg as a partner in this!  He’s willing to volunteer alone today so I can study.  He says he also wants to use this situation of my studying all day to be a positive example to the kids.  See?  There’s a bright side to everything.

On a different note, I want to share a pancake recipe from this morning that didn’t exactly fail!  But, it didn’t turn out exactly how I expected it to–although the nutrition aspect is there full blast.  It’s sort of an apple flavored pancake that didn’t rend much of an apple flavor haha.  I hope you don’t mind my sharing the recipe though.  Okay I just realized that I don’t have the photos and recipe with me but I’ll come back tonight once I’m finished with school and put it up on the blog!

Taken with my phone camera

By the way, have you ever tried the Earnest Bar?  I just had one for the first time and it’s so good! Very hearty and held me over for at least 2.5 hours, and I usually get hungry every 1.5-2 hours.  Not bad!  The ingredients are decent I think.  Have a great rest of the day!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a cool thing to do and a great way to volunteer. Never heard of that bar. Love bars for easy snacks though.

    • Yes it is awesome volunteering there. It’s crazy to know that although so many times I don’t feel like I’m making much difference there, God sends me nuggets of encouragement–like when they start to open up to us and we know that they’re feeling LUUUUVD. Bars are awesome!!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.